Property law

Most New Zealanders buy or sell property at some point in their lives.  The decisions involved are often the most significant financial decisions we make. 

Many people find that the first time they need a lawyer is when they buy their first home.  For many, purchasing a first home is only the beginning of a lifetime involvement with property.

Whether you are purchasing your first home or you are an experienced property developer, we can provide you with the legal advice you need to protect your property interests.  We take a personal interest in you and your goals.  Our aim is to help you achieve those goals by providing excellent service and specialist legal advice about:

  • Buying and selling residential, farm and commercial properties
  • Leasing
  • Subdivisions
  • Building contracts
  • Refinancing
  • Licences
  • Easements
  • Fencing issues

 

Read our property law articles 


Experts in the field

mdp

Matthew Peploe

Email: matthew.peploe@harkness.co.nz

Direct Dial: +64 7 834 6671

mmt

Mark Thomson

Email: mark.thomson@harkness.co.nz

Direct Dial: +64 7 834 4669

GRA

Geraldine Austin

Email: geraldine.austin@harkness.co.nz

Direct Dial: +64 7 834 2634

AME

Annette Edwards

Email: annette.edwards@harkness.co.nz

Direct Dial: +64 7 834 6683

slb

Sandra Braithwaite

Email: sandra.braithwaite@harkness.co.nz

Direct Dial: +64 7 834 4664

ERQ

Erica Quilter

Email: erica.quilter@harkness.co.nz

Direct Dial: +64 7 834 4663

GKT

Greg Thomas

Email: greg.thomas@harkness.co.nz

Direct Dial: +64 7 834 4667

CXL

Claire Luxton

Email: claire.luxton@harkness.co.nz

Direct Dial: +64 7 834 6685