Commercial litigation

We adopt a pragmatic approach to resolving disputes. Our focus is on achieving the best result for our clients, while minimising the disruption and expense associated with protracted litigation.

Our team of specialist commercial litigators all possess strong court advocacy skills, regularly appear in courts at all levels as well as in arbitrations, and have been involved in a number of high profile cases. We work hard to get you the best result quickly and efficiently. Where appropriate, that frequently involves assisting clients to negotiate favourable settlements, either directly or through judicial settlement conferences, mediations or other forms of alternative dispute resolution.

We regularly deal, and are able to provide expert assistance, with:

  • Contract disputes
  • Debt recovery, including the enforcement of securities and guarantees
  • Landlord and tenant disputes
  • Negligence claims, including professional negligence claims against lawyers and accountants
  • Trade practice disputes
  • Challenges to decisions made by government bodies.

Our more experienced lawyers also regularly act as mediators and arbitrators at the request of other law firms.

 

Read our litigatation articles


Experts in the field

SJR

Sarah Rawcliffe

Email: sarah.rawcliffe@harkness.co.nz

Direct Dial: +64 7 834 4660

mdb

Murray Branch

Email: murray.branch@harkness.co.nz

Direct Dial: +64 7 834 6686

wjs

Warren Scotter

Email: warren.scotter@harkness.co.nz

Direct Dial: +64 7 834 6678

KFS

Karen Shaw

Email: karen.shaw@harkness.co.nz

Direct Dial: +64 7 834 4665

SPM

Simon Middlemiss

Email: simon.middlemiss@harkness.co.nz

Direct Dial: +64 7 834 6684

TSB

Tim Burtenshaw

Email: tim.burtenshaw@harkness.co.nz

Direct Dial: +64 7 834 2636

CJB

Che Bunce

Email: che.bunce@harkness.co.nz

Direct Dial: +64 7 834 2631